Home » News Articles » PRRM Welcomes its Council of Advisers

PRRM Welcomes its Council of Advisers

PRRM welcomes its Council of AdvisersThe PRRM Council of Advisers, whose members were nominated and elected y the PRRM Board of Trustees, had its inaugural meeting on March 28, 2008 at the PRRM National Headquarters in Quezon City. Six of the seven members of the Council attended its first meeting. The Board of Trustees represented by Chairperson Emeritus Helena Z Benitez, Chair Wigberto E. Tañada, Vice-Chair Vicente R. Jayme, President Conrado S. Navarro, and Trustee Isagani R. Serrano and staff members of the PRRM Managemnt Committee were also present to welcome the new advisers and orient them on PRRM.

The distinguished members of the Council of Advisers are:

Prof. Randolph S. David, teaches at the UP Department of Sociology; writes for the Philippine Daily Inquirer; serves on the board of various non-government organizations; and hosted “Public Forum” (renamed “Public Life”) and “Off the Record” talkshows.

Dr. Cielito F. Habito, currently director of the Department of Economics, Ateneo de Manila University; was former Director-General of the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA); and former professor at the UP School of Economics.

Mr. Oscar M. Lopez, chairman and chief executive officer of Benpres Holdings Corporation and First Philippine Holdings Corporation; chairman and president of the Eugenio Lopez Foundation; chairman of the Lopez Group Foundation; has consistently involved himself in a number of social concerns.

Mr. Jose Z. Molano, Jr., former executive director and member of the Board of Commissioners of the Commission of Filipinos Overseas; worked with the UNDP & ILO in West Africa, South Asia and Southeast Asia.

Mayor Jesse M. Robredo, the incumbent mayor of Naga City and among the country’s esteemed civil servants; recipient to many prestigious awards, both international and national, for his pioneering and innovative ideas on governance, transparency and participation.

Dr. Sixto K. Roxas, a highly respected economist and banker; active in the management and establishment of various not-for-profit foundations; involved in developing an ecosystems-based, community-centered organization and management system.

Mr. Washington Z. Sycip, founder of the SGV Group; recipient of various honors and awards including the Ramon Magsaysay Award for International Understanding (1992) and Management Man of the Year (1967) conferred by the Management Association of the Philippines; serves on the board of a number of national and international organizations and corporations.

Since its founding in 1952, PRRM has sought advise and assistance from eminent individuals that would help improve the substance, reach and impact of its programs and advocacies. The formation of the Council formalizes this practice.

The role of the Council is to assist the PRRM Board of Trustees (BoT) on matters pertaining to the: management and development of its real estate assets, the endowment fund and other funds that may be created by the BoT and/or the National Council; mobilization of resources to support the organization’s programs; analysis of development issues; enhancement/development of PRRM programs and strategies; expansion of PRRM networks and linkages; and promotion of PRRM’s programs and policy positions.


Journals, Books, Articles, Features and Commentaries on national and international policy, grassroots developments and initiatives and rural reconstruction movement. Read more
Community and Habitat No. 13: Community resilience needs a change in mindset Community and Habitat No. 13: Community resilience needs a change in mindset
Community resilience needs a change in mindset
THIS ISSUE OF PRRM’S COMMUNITY & HABITAT JOURNAL IS focused on the intertwined issues of climate change, energy and food.

Development Courses
Conrado Benitez Institute for Sustainability (CBIS)

The CBIS offers a range of sustainable development courses covering different situations. Read more

Downloadable Forms
CBIS Handbook 4 | Enrollment Form